Plate spinning

Spinning Plates Act Photo 2Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

Do you remember the guy in the circus or on the Ed Sullivan Show who would spin a bunch of plates on rods? He would get one going, then another, then another, then another, and keep adding more plates, then he’d have to run back to the first ones and give them another spin. He was forever running back and forth between plates, keeping them all spinning, and trying to avoid one smashing on the floor. At the end, he gracefully catches each plate and stacks them with a flourish – how amazing!

Sometimes, I feel like my life is that way (except the amazing flourish at the end)! My life is filled with busyness, I have so many things going on: My husband, our five children and three married one’s spouses, 3 grandchildren, my husband’s 3-4 businesses (that I do the bookwork and running for), my 2 businesses, two classes I teach, the house, the yard, the laundry, cooking, banking, exercising, travel, etcetera, etcetera. It’s all good things, and I enjoy it all, but sometimes I feel like I’m spinning plates, and I am afraid I will forget something important and a plate will crash to the floor.

Because I think I am in control of it all…

Sometimes I feel like I need a rest!

That’s when I need to take a deep breath, breathe a prayer, and remember that God’s got this! My job is to do what is in my little circle of responsibility: To love God first, and to love and help others as His Holy Spirit prompts me. I need to draw near to Him and “yoke up” with Him—like when you see two oxen bound together with a yoke and pulling a load side-by-side, which makes it so much easier than one ox doing it by himself. Yoke of oxen

When I choose to “yoke up” to Him, He takes the load and gives rest to my soul. That sounds nice, doesn’t it?—“rest unto your souls”—that’s what Jesus promises, and that’s what Jesus gives us, if we will allow Him.

Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you” (1 Peter 5:7).

That’s easy to say, but HOW do I cast it on Him. Well, this is what I try to do: I say out loud, “Lord, I am handing this to you, you know how to take care of it so much better than I do. Let it be done according to Your Will.” And then I have faith in Him to work it all together for my good and His glory. I try not to take it back, I try not to worry about it, and I keep reminding myself that God’s got this! I don’t need to keep spinning those plates. That’s not my job. That’s God’s job. Colossians 1:17 is speaking of the Lord Jesus and says, “…by Him all things consist”. The word “consist” in this verse can also be translated “are held together”. (Kind of like in baking when you mix things together and they have a “consistency” – they are held together!) So, if Jesus is keeping it all together, then it is His responsibility, not mine. Of course, I mustn’t shirk my responsibilities, but I shouldn’t worry about everything. Worry is a sin, and it will steal your joy, just like all the other sins.

I always claimed Matthew 11:28 when I was at the hospital in labor with each of my children. I know that is not really what it means, but at the time I was literally one of them “that labour and are heavy laden”, so I felt that it applied :). And He did help me with my labor!

So, let’s practice “yoking up” with the Lord, and casting all our cares on Him. Instead of running around like chickens with our heads cut off, spinning plates, and missing out on the blessings of the present that is right in front of us.

~Graced and Grateful Grammy

Never get too busy making a living that you forget to make a life

Leave a Reply

