The Vending machine

vending-machine“But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.” Job 23:10

Imagine one day I was hungry for some crispy, chocolatey goodness, and I walked up to a vending machine, put in my quarters, and pushed the button for a KitKat® (gimme a break ♫♪, gimme a break ♫♪), I pushed “E5”, and much to my chagrin out popped a Snickers®! I was so disappointed and angry! And, I had a “conniption”- I became so angry at that machine for not giving me what I wanted! But I wanted a KitKat®! I don’t want to have to deal with all those nuts!!”

How silly? Over a bar of chocolate! It was just a mechanical malfunction.

But, isn’t that what we do to the Lord sometimes? We put in our “quarters” of praying, reading our Bible, working in the nursery, teaching a class, being kind, doing a good deed, etc., and we expect God to “gimme a break!” But oftentimes just the opposite happens — we have to deal with a bunch of nuts!!

Well, obviously our Sovereign Lord has a plan, He is not a vending machine with a short circuit. He is our loving Father Who knows what’s best for us, especially when we think we know what is best, and what should drop out the bottom of the vending machine when we put in all our “good works” – which, by the way — the Lord calls “filthy rags” (Isaiah 64:6). He knows that sometimes we need to go through some fiery trials, we need to deal with some nuts, and “when He hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold”.

We need to learn to be thankful for the nuts! That’s what makes us grow in our faith, and eventually makes us perfect, or mature in our walk with the Lord:

Knowing this , that the trying of your faith worketh patience. But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.” (James 1:3-4)

Remember this next time you think of God as a “vending machine.”

~Graced and Grateful Grammy

Life is like chocolate, sometimes you’ve gotta deal with nuts!

Leave a Reply

