Much Ado About “NOTHING”

1 Corinthians 13 4-7.jpgThough I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal. And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing. And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing.” (I Corinthians 13:1-3)

This past Sunday evening, our Pastor gave a message on 1 Corinthians 13. He went through all the attributes of love listed in the first eight verses, and although I have read that passage MANY times, something struck me anew this time:

Without love, we have NOTHING!!

To paraphrase the beginning of the chapter:  If I speak eloquently and intelligently, while making good talking points, and philanthropically give generously and often, but don’t do it with love – IT IS WORTH NOTHING!

NOTHING!

Wow! Don’t we all wish that we could speak well in front of people, that we could actually SAY all those things we rehearsed so expressively to ourselves earlier in the car, that others would admire our ability to speak and teach, and that we could give lots of money away to various charities? Why is that? Is it so we have the applause of men? It’s really pride and selfishness that makes us want to look good to others, that’s Much Ado. About NOTHING.

Well, without love, God’s Word tells us that those things are worthless!

We all have the most valuable gift within each of us. If you are born-again, you have the Holy Spirit indwelling you, and the fruit of the Spirit is LOVE (Galatians 5:22). We can choose to be loving in our speech and actions, and THAT is more valuable than being able to speak well or give generously.

My little children, let us not love in word, neither in tongue; but in deed and in truth.”(1 John 3:18)

How about that! We had it all along! We had the SOMETHING that we need. We can all choose to love, and THAT is SOMETHING!

~Graced and Grateful Grammy

Nothing is impossible with God

Leave a Reply

