Window Washing

window-smear7And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but perceivest not the beam that is in thine own eye? Either how canst thou say to thy brother, Brother, let me pull out the mote that is in thine eye, when thou thyself beholdest not the beam that is in thine own eye? Thou hypocrite, cast out first the beam out of thine own eye, and then shalt thou see clearly to pull out the mote that is in thy brother’s eye.” Luke 6:41,42

I have a confession to make:

I don’t really like washing windows.

No matter how much elbow grease I put into it, they always seem smeared. I have to keep going back and forth to each side, because once I think I have it clean on one side I see a smear and rub and rub, but then realize it’s on the other side, and so on, and so on…

(That’s why I usually pay my kids to do them!)

I once heard a speaker on the radio say, “finding fault is like washing windows – all the dirt always seems to be on the other side!” Isn’t that the truth?

It is so easy to see other people’s character flaws, annoying habits, and just downright sinful behavior. But, it is so easy to overlook our own, excuse it away and act like it’s no big deal, and it doesn’t really hurt anyone else, anyways. Right?? WRONG!! Sin always hurts ourselves as well as the others around us!

We have heard the above passage so many times about the mote and the beam, where Jesus is using a practical, physical occurrence to drive home a spiritual principal. It sure makes sense, though: If you have a two-by-four sticking out of your face, how in the world can you see to pick out a little speck in someone else’s eye?? You’ve gotta get rid of that log in your eye first! Don’t even think about trying to help someone else when you have such an obvious issue of your own.

It is the same with finding faults in others. Make sure that you have asked God: “Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.” (Psalm 139:23,24) Once you have humbled yourself, repented, and confessed of your own sin, they you can ‘see your way clear’ to help that other person. Confide in them that you struggle with some sins of your own and that you understand this battle we all have with our flesh. Encourage them, restore them: “Brethren, if a man be overtaken in a fault, ye which are spiritual, restore such an one in the spirit of meekness; considering thyself, lest thou also be tempted.” (Galatians 6.1)

If a brother or sister is battling sin in their life, the LAST thing they need is some self-righteous, pompous person pointing out the obvious (their eye-problem) and berating them for not wearing the proper protective eye-gear, and for being so stupid as to let something get in in the first place!! No. They need someone to be “speaking the truth in love” (Ephesians 4:15) to them, gently taking them by the hand, telling them it will be okay, and that restoration and forgiveness is possible – “Let me help you get that out –I’ll go with you to the eye Doctor, I’ll put the drops in your eyes if you can’t do it yourself”. (By the way, my husband is the biggest baby when it comes to putting drops in his eyes, I literally have to sit on him on the couch, hold his head back and force his eye open so I can put them in –thankfully, he doesn’t need it very often!) THAT’S loving others. THAT’S loving God by loving his other children.

Now, go wash those windows –both sides!!

~Graced and Grateful Grammy

Some people find fault like there’s a reward for it” (Zig Ziglar)

Leave a Reply

