Anchor Away!

Which hope we have as an anchor of the soul, both sure and stedfast, and which entereth into thaanchort within the veil…even Jesus…” Hebrews 6:19, 20

About 10 years ago, my husband and I chartered a sailboat along with four of our children, and sailed to Annapolis from Rock Hall, MD. Unbeknownst to us there was a power boat show going on and all the slips and anchorages in Annapolis were taken, so at the last minute we had to anchor over on the unfamiliar Eastport side. It was a very windy night and we were anchored close to other boats, which wouldn’t be so bad except our anchor kept slipping in the muddy bottom of Back Creek, and our boat kept drifting dangerously close to some other boats, if we had bumped into them it would not have been pleasant!! Our anchor kept getting away!! Every hour we had to get up and check the anchor, see how far we had moved and how close we were getting to the other boats (it was pretty chilly outside too!), sometimes we had to start the engine and re-set the anchor. My husband spent a very anxious night huddled in the cockpit wrapped in a comforter, trying to keep us from bumping into other boats and stay warm, too!! We found out when we got back to the charter company that the owner of the boat had bought the wrong anchor for the boat – it was too small for a 35′ Beneteau, which proved to be a problem on that windy night when we were anchored in close proximity to other boats!

Well, for some reason I got to thinking about that ‘adventure’ recently. In the busy-ness of life’s “winds” over the last few months, I have felt myself “drifting” away from the Lord because I haven’t spent enough time in His Word and in prayer and fellowship with Him. I found myself getting anxious and distant from my Lord, and I don’t know about you, but when that happens and I “bump” into other people, sometimes the results are not so pleasant! I had started using the wrong anchor—the anchor of self. I felt convicted. I had to spend some time wrapped in the “Comforter”, the Holy Spirit, warming myself with His presence, and restoring my relationship with the LORD Jesus, anchoring (yoking) myself back with Him, getting rest for my soul:

Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.” (Matthew 11:28,29)

The verse from Hebrews 6 that I quoted in the beginning tells us that Jesus is “the anchor of our soul, steadfast and sure”, and I am thankful that He is, and I am thankful that when I start to drift, He calls me back to Himself and the rest and peace that I will find in Him. Many hymns have been written about that verse, I call them The Anchor Hymns, and I love them all: “My Anchor Holds” by William Martin; “We Have an Anchor” by Priscilla Owens; “In Times Like These” by Ruth Caye Jones; “The Haven of Rest” by Henry Gilmour; and many more…

How about you?

Is your lifeline tied to the right Anchor?

First of all, do you know Jesus Christ as your personal Savior? Have you trusted Him and Him alone to save you from your sins and accepted His Free Gift of payment for your sins by dying on the cross and rising again from the dead?

If you are saved and His child already, are you drifting? Is your anchor slipping? Have you switched anchors?

My new year’s challenge to myself and to you, dear reader, is to get yourself hitched to the right anchor. The Only One Who can do the job – the Steadfast and Sure One – The LORD Jesus Christ. And don’t let go!

Happy New Year!!

~Graced and Grateful Grammy

“And it holds, my anchor holds: Blow your wildest, then, O gale, On my bark so small and frail;
By His grace I shall not fail, For my anchor holds, my anchor holds”
(Wil
liam Martin)

 

 

Leave a Reply

