More Road Signs on Life’s Highway

Be kindly affectioned one to another with brotherly love; in honour preferring one another” Romans 12:10

more-road-signs
In an earlier blog post, Road signs on Life’s Highway, I wrote about how my husband and I seem to be doing a lot of driving now. In the month of August this year, I counted up that we were in 14 states in 30 days! So, I have some more road signs I came across and wanted to share with you – this is kinda fun, I hope you enjoy it!

I noticed that a lot of them are about being kind and considerate to others.
left-turns-cross-trafficBEWARE OF LEFT TURNS AND CROSS TRAFFIC – I don’t know if any of you remember this but, before we had many traffic lights and center left turn lanes, and when Kennett Square and Chadds Ford were out in the ‘Boonies’, Route 1 used to have a sign that said, “Beware of left turns and cross traffic”. (I remember that a clever fellow-student in my senior class actually made this their senior quote in the yearbook!). It was a big yellow sign warning drivers to be mindful of the other people on the road. These people may have to make left turns from Route 1, where there is not a turning lane, or may have to make a left turn onto route 1 which could be dangerous! The Bible tells us to be mindful of others, too. “Look not every man on his own things, but every man also on the things of others” (Philippians 2:4). We don’t know what “left turns” are going on in other people’s lives, what trials they are going through, or if they are just having a bad day. In England, being angry or disgruntled is called being “cross” – beware of “cross traffic” – when others are anxious they appear “cross”, but sometimes they just need someone to smile at them, and show them love.

detour.gifDETOUR – Don’t you just love it when you are cruising along, right on time to an appointment, and then you see this sign: DETOUR! The road you were planning on driving on is closed, and now you have to take a different route, which will mess up your plans, take you out of your comfort zone, and just be annoying! Life often puts up a “detour” sign for us, just when we think things are cruising along well. However, the “detours” in life are often the times that we grow closer to the Lord, learn to trust in His perfect plan, and learn patience: “…count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations; Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience” (James 1:2,3). So really, we should welcome those detour signs and count it all joy!

do-not-passDO NOT PASS/STAY IN LANE – This means that you need to stay in your place, behind the car that is in front of you. Don’t ride too close to his bumper, and don’t be impatient and beep your horn at him, just patiently follow along, don’t try to rush around him and push your own agenda. Hmmm!? Sound familiar? Sometimes, we try to go ahead of the Lord, we get impatient, we may even “beep our horn” to get things moving along, but it is best to “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths” (Proverbs 3:5,6). When we humbly submit to the Lord and to His commands, stay in our place, He shall direct our paths.

school-zoneSCHOOL ZONE – When we see this sign, we know that there are children present in this area, at least when school is in session, and we need to be extra careful, and drive extra slowly so that we don’t hurt one of these little ones. Jesus loves the little children, He wants us to be extra careful around them, and He gave several warnings about hurting these little ones. He rebuked the disciples when they tried to keep children from coming to Jesus (Mark 10:14), and then He said that if anyone offends a child that believes in Him, it would be better for them “that a millstone were hanged about his neck, and that he were drowned in the depth of the sea…” (Matthew 18:6). Children are always watching us – there is ALWAYS a School Zone around!

two-way-trafficTWO WAY TRAFFIC AHEAD – So, after a period of one-way traffic, you might see this sign indicating that now you are on a two-way street. I am glad that even though once my life was a one-way street (I was living for my self, depending on my self, and all by my self), NOW I am saved and have the Lord Jesus to thank for it, I have the Holy Spirit indwelling me teaching, guiding, leading and loving others through me in ways I could never do by myself. I have the promise that He will never leave me nor forsake me (Hebrews 13:5), I will never be all by my self again. There is a two-way communication between me and the Lord (Romans 8:26), He hears my prayers (Psalm 6:9), and He speaks to me through His Word (John 17:17, 2 Timothy 3:16). I am thankful I am not on that one-way street anymore, because it led to a Dead End.
dead-endDEAD END – This sign tells us that there is no point in going down this road, there is nothing there, there is no other way out but the way we came in, and there could be some danger there. God tells us that “the wages of sin is death…” (Romans 6:23), and that there is no good reason to go down that road because there is danger there “…and sin, when it is finished, bringeth forth death” (James 1:15). Stay away from Dead Ends!!
I hope you enjoyed these road signs and their spiritual application as much as I have enjoyed putting them together.
Happy Trails!
~Graced and Grateful Grammy

Leave a Reply

