The “Whole Thing!”

…faith hath made thee whole…” (Matthew 9:22; Mark 5:34, 10:52; Luke 8:48, 17:19; Acts 4:9,10)Whole thing

Do you sit around and think about words? I do! I think about why we use that particular word, where it came from, what the root word(s) are in it, what the original meaning was, etc, etc. Sometimes I say them over and over in my head until they sound ridiculous. Go on! Try it! Say, “whole, whole, whole, whole, whole, whole, whole” over and over, doesn’t it sound weird? Sorry, I digressed…

Well, a few weeks ago, we were reading in John chapter 5 about the impotent man (Definition of impotent: not potent; lacking in power, strength, or vigor; lacking bodily strength or physically helpless), and “When Jesus saw him lie, and knew that he had been now a long time in that case, he saith unto him, Wilt thou be made whole?(John 5:6). Well, in order to be made whole (Synonyms for whole: complete, perfect, healthy, entire, total, full, fulfilled, intact), he would have to have been un-whole (Antonyms for whole: incomplete; imperfect; unhealthy; broken; deficient; insufficient; impaired; sick) which he was. So, “Jesus saith unto him, Rise, take up thy bed, and walk. And immediately the man was made whole…” (vs 8-9). Verse 15 tells us that “The man departed, and told the Jews that it was Jesus, which had made him whole.” I find it interesting that the phrase “made whole” is used several times in this passage, and also in many others (some are listed above). In verse 14, it says “Afterward Jesus findeth him in the temple, and said unto him, Behold, thou art made whole: sin no more…” Which implies to me that in addition to healing the man physically, Jesus made him whole spiritually through faith in Him. In many cases in scripture, Jesus said, “thy faith hath made thee whole”, which got me to thinking about how Jesus healed people physically by His power, but He also healed them spiritually by their faith in Him. It is faith that makes us whole spiritually. Faith in the Lord Jesus, in Who He is, and what He has done for us. It’s that “whole thing!”

For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast. For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.” (Ephesians 2:8-10)

So, if we have not accepted Christ as Savior, we are “un-whole(incomplete; imperfect; unhealthy; broken; deficient; insufficient; impaired; sick):

  • Incomplete because we have a void in our soul that only God can fill.
  • Imperfect because we have all sinned and come short of the glory of God.
  • Unhealthy because the only way to be healthy in mind, body, and soul is to have a proper relationship with the Lord.
  • Broken because life is hard, and it doesn’t always make sense, and it is not fair.
  • Deficient because we are lacking the One who will make our life worth living.
  • Insufficient because there is nothing we can do in and of ourselves that would make us good enough to be in God’s holy presence.
  • Impaired by our sinful state that renders us useless to a just and holy God.
  • Sick because of the sin that indwells us and the natural man who causes us to do that which is evil in the sight of God.

I would like to proclaim, as that man did, that it is Jesus who made me whole. I was a sinner, lost in my sins, with no One to comfort me, with no peace, and with no hope of getting into Heaven on my own merit. When I got saved, I remember realizing that now I am complete. That nagging feeling that something had been missing in my life was GONE.

And ye are complete in him, which is the head of all principality and power.” (Colossians 2:10)

Being born-again makes me part of God’s family, His child. And as a loving Father, He wants to give me what is best for me, He wants to supply my needs, and He wants me to be full of the Joy of the Lord. Now, I don’t mean that he wants me to be happy happy happy all the time, happiness comes from happenings, but true Joy comes from our relationship with the Lord. Knowing that He is in control, and that His way is perfect.

Verily, verily, I say unto you, Whatsoever ye shall ask the Father in my name, he will give it you. Hitherto have ye asked nothing in my name: ask, and ye shall receive, that your joy may be full.” (John 16:23-24)

He gives me strength when times get tough.

…for the joy of the Lord is your strength.” (Nehemiah 8:10)

I hope that you can say with me that you have “the whole thing” going for you. That you have been made whole — saved, redeemed, born-again, are a believer in the Lord Jesus Christ and His shed blood on the cross that paid the price for ALL our sins and that you have trusted wholly in Him and Him alone. That He died and rose again to fully satisfy the price demanded by our just and Holy God for the sin we have committed. He did the whole thing for you so you can believe the whole thing about Him and be whole.

~Graced and Grateful Grammy

I’m thankful I believed “the whole thing”!

Leave a Reply

