When In A Bother, Help Another

Galatians 6:9,10 “And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not. As we have therefore opportunity, let us do good unto all men, especially unto them who are of the household of faith.”

Dear Friend,

I was born in England, my family moved to America when I was the tender age of 12 – yes, during those awkward, insecure middle school years my Father decided to move us across the ocean to a totally different country and culture! I soon came to realize that, although we speak the same language, the “English” spoken in America is rather different from the language of my mother country. I won’t go into all the embarrassing situations that came up, but suffice it to say that I learned how to speak “American” quickly to get my fellow awkward-insecure-middleschoolers to leave me alone.
Now that I am adult, I am remembering with fondness the different words and phrases I grew up with.  For example, instead of saying, “I had a hard time”, or, “I had some trouble”, the British would say (now, put on your best British accent before you read this!):  “I had a bit of a bother”! Doesn’t that just sound splendid?  I can just hear Winnie-the-Pooh saying it! In fact, if you are familiar with Pooh Bear, you will recall that he often says “Oh, bother!” when he is having some difficulty. Love it!
The Apostle Paul wrote the book of Galatians to encourage fellow Christians to stay strong in their walk with the Lord.  They were having “a bit of a bother” with the Judiazers who were trying to convince them that in order to be truly saved they needed to keep the Old Testament law of the Jews. After convincing the church at Galatians of his credentials as an apostle of the Lord Jesus Christ, Paul reassured them that it was by grace alone though faith in Jesus that they were saved (Galatians 2:16), not by keeping the law. Verse 9 exhorts them not to get tired of doing right. Do you wonder why they were weary in well doing? Because doing the right thing is HARD! It goes against our natural instinct, it goes against our flesh to do the Christ-like thing. Paul encouraged them by telling them that there is a reward to reap if they don’t get tired and quit.
We were reading these verses a few months ago in family devotions, and it was as if a light went on in my head when I read the verse that follows – verse 10. After telling the Galatians not to quit doing right, Paul tells them to look for opportunities to help others! Have you ever heard anyone say that if you are in the middle of hardships,  go find someone worse off than you and help them? I  have heard it many times and it makes sense to take your mind off your own problems by reaching out to someone else. But these verses lead me to believe that it is Biblical. Paul told the Galatians to do good to others, especially fellow Christians. So, dear reader, are you going through a rough time? Are you “in a bit of a bother?” Well, ask the Lord to put someone on your heart that you can help – it may just be sending a note of encouragement, a phone call, a hug, offering to babysit, or taking a meal, or just a baked goodie, maybe a visit, or just an offer of your prayers and a shoulder to cry on. Get before the Lord in prayer and He will let you know…You will receive the greater blessing. “It is more blessed to give than to receive.”

Graced and Grateful Grammy

~When in a bother, help another ~Studio_20160125_154730

Leave a Reply

