Whose Are You?

Fear not: for I have redeemed thee, I have called thee by thy name; thou art mine. When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee. For I am the Lord thy God…Since thou wast precious in my sight, thou hast been honourable, and I have loved thee…Fear not: for I am with thee.” Isaiah 43:1-5

dish
Dear Friend,

While cleaning my bedroom a few weeks ago, in my haste to finish dusting, I accidentally knocked a little dish off my dresser and broke it. If you saw this dish at a yard sale, you probably wouldn’t pay much attention to it – you might pay fifty cents for it if you thought it was cute, because it wouldn’t seem like much to you. But to me, and to my family it is worth a lot because of whose it is – who it belonged to. It was given to me many years ago by my husband’s Aunt Dodo (yes, that is what they called her!), and it is the only thing I have in my possession that belonged to my husband’s grandmother, whose name we used as our second daughter’s middle name. I was heart-broken when I realized what I had done, it was precious to me because of who had once possessed it.
We, as God’s children, all have worth because of whose we are – who we belong to, not so much in who we are. Self-esteem is taking pride in who we are, our unique characteristics and abilities that make us unique. But unfortunately, due to our human nature, taking pride in those things tends to make us conceited and vain, because we forget Who gave us those things. 1 Corinthians 4:7 sums it up, “For who maketh thee to differ from another? and what hast thou that thou didst not receive? now if thou didst receive it, why dost thou glory, as if thou hadst not received it?”. I believe we should practice more “God-esteem” rather than “self-esteem”, to “esteem” means to value highly, to honor, to admire, to respect, and appreciate, and who deserves our esteem better than Him? He is the One who gives us value.
So, like that little dish I broke, we have value only because of Whose we are. If we have trusted in Jesus as Saviour, we are His child (John 1:12), He loves us “with an everlasting love” (Jeremiah 31:3), and we are “precious” in His sight (Isaiah 43:1-5), He has a plan for us (Jeremiah 29:11), and He wants us to bring glory to His name. “For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them” (Ephesians 2:10). There lies the answer to that age-old question in most people’s minds: “Who am I, and why am I here?” If you seek the answer to that question, may I introduce you to my Lord, Who also loves you – He loves you so much that He sent His only Son to die for your sins as well as for mine: “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life” (John 3:16). He loves you, even your broken pieces (and we all have broken pieces!). No one is so broken that His grace and mercy cannot fix and make into a “new creature” (2 Cor 5:17).
Everlasting life with God, and an everlasting love for us – now that is a life worth living! That is the life with God-esteem. It is not something that changes with our emotions, or with our circumstances – it a solid fact! God loves each one of us, and when we become His child we become the “apple of His eye”, and He will keep us “under His wings” of love and mercy (Psalm 17:8). And one more thing…He doesn’t make mistakes! So, whatever you are going through, whatever physical, emotional, relational problems you have, the Lord knows all about them, and He is there with you, loving you, and guiding you through. He loves you and your broken pieces! Trust Him! I hope that you have this everlasting life and Light in your life, because of Whose you are.

~ Graced and Grateful Grammy

You have value because of Whose you are

Leave a Reply

