“If you don’t use it you lose it!”

Forget me notsDear Friend,

“For bodily exercise profiteth little: but godliness is profitable unto all things, having promise of the life that now is, and of that which is to come.” 1 Timothy 4:8

About a year and a half ago, my husband and I embarked on a new healthier lifestyle. We had both entered our fifties and decided it was time to start eating healthier and exercising regularly. We have both been pretty faithful to our plan, we have both lost weight, gained muscle tone, and feel so much healthier and stronger. Well, along came Thanksgiving, and Christmas, and New Year’s Eve and Day, along with the children home from college and guests for dinner…etc…etc… Through that time I slacked off on the exercising, I snacked on unhealthy junk, I sat around a lot, and as a result I gained several pounds and lost muscle strength. In my exercise routine – sit-ups, push-ups, leg-ups – the “downs” were easy but the “ups” had become so much harder! How quickly that happened, I was unpleasantly surprised to find out!
I believe that physical exercise is profitable, and we should keep our body under control (1 Corinthians 9:27), a healthy body is strong and better prepared to serve the Lord in whatever He calls us to do. Self control, especially in the area of our eating habits, is also a good thing to pursue, God’s Word addresses gluttony almost as much as He does drunkenness. But, exercising ourselves in godliness is more profitable to us as far as eternity is concerned. Our spiritual fitness is more vital than our physical fitness, I have heard it said that faith is like a muscle, the more you exercise it, the stronger it becomes. How does our faith grow? Romans 10:17 tells us that “…faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.” We need daily time in God’s Word, reading and meditating on it, we need fervent intimate prayer with our Abba Father, and we need fellowship with fellow believers. Through Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years, I also found that due to the busyness of the season, I was lacking in those important things, too. I found myself slacking on exercising time in God’s Word, and in prayer. I found myself “snacking” on the unhealthy junk that the world has to offer, I also missed a few Church services. Before long I had gained some bad habits, and lost strength in my walk with the Lord. When the “downs” came along (irritations, interruptions, annoyances), because I did not have as much strength and joy from the Lord, the “ups” were harder to gain (being kind, compassionate, and Christ-like toward others). Isn’t it amazing how our spiritual walk is so mirrored in the physical world? I believe that’s why the Lord Jesus spoke in parables to the people, He used real-life situations to make word-pictures with spiritual applications because it makes sense to us and we can learn from what we are familiar with.
I hope that you are encouraged to continue on in your “spiritual fitness program”, keep on “pressing toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:13), you will reap rewards here on earth (the life that now is) and also one day in Heaven (the life that is here to come), according to our verse: 1 Timothy 4:8.

~Seven days without prayer makes one weak~

~Graced and Grateful Grammy

Leave a Reply

