Why “Graced and Grateful Grammy?”

Hello Dear Friend,

This is my first attempt at blogging, so bear with me as I work out the kinks in how to do this.   First of all, I would like to introduce myself:  I am a born-again Christian by God’s grace; I have been married to the same man for over 34 years; I am the mother of 5 mostly grown children (aged 17 – 29); I am the grandmother of 3 (so far :)); I am originally from England, my mother (a very English lady who reminds us all somewhat of Winne the Pooh!) lives close by and we get together for tea and biscuits and a rousing game of Rummikub or Scrabble quite often; I love flowers, especially those of the English variety-roses, hollyhocks, hydrangeas, etc.; my husband has his own construction company along with a few smaller businesses to which I am the bookkeeper, secretary, office and marketing manager; we are active in our local Church which we have been members of for about 27 years and where we both love to teach; there is much more I could share, but that will come as this blog progresses…

I have learned many things in my walk with my Savior (mostly the hard way, I am sorry to say) and according to the instruction of Titus 2:3-5, I am to pass this teaching on to younger women.  So, here goes:IMG_6616b

I chose the name of the blog to be “Graced and Grateful Grammy”, partly because I like the alliteration, and mostly because it really says who I am.

I have had God’s grace bestowed on me, so I feel “Graced”. Grace is defined as “the free and unmerited favor of God, as manifested in the salvation of sinners and the bestowal of blessings.”  Well, He has favored me in so many ways I cannot begin to list them all, I will make a feeble attempt, though:  Firstly, my Salvation: God loved me and saved me through faith from the punishment of my sin – eternal separation from Him in an ungodly place called Hell – by sending His only begotten Son to pay the price and take my place as a free gift (Ephesians 2:8,9).  Secondly, my family, who love me despite my human frailties and idiosyncrasies. Thirdly, my Church family who love and support me spiritually, emotionally, and physically in so many ways as the needs have arisen.

I am “Grateful” because of the above-listed grace that has been extended to me, and so out of thankfulness to the LORD, I try to serve Him and love Him with all my heart as He has commanded. Thus, this blog. “And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to the which also ye are called in one body; and be ye thankful.” Colossians 3:15

I am a “Grammy” – that is what my 3 grandchildren call me. I am a rather young grandmother, and I must confess that I love telling people that I have five children and three grandchildren, and having them say “Wow! You don’t look old enough to have grandchildren!” ~ I know they are probably just saying it to make me feel good, but it works! There! Now you know how prideful I am, but Proverbs 27:2 tells us, “Let another man praise thee, and not thine own mouth; a stranger, and not thine own lips.”

So, this Graced and Grateful Grammy is hoping to pass on some of this grace and gratefulness to you, dear reader, and maybe we can grow together in God’s grace and encourage and edify each other in our walk with the LORD.

Thank you for bearing with me,

Graced and Grateful Grammy

Leave a Reply

